top of page

GAPS legal BURRITO!!!! (GAPS/AIP/SCD)

I had absolutely no intention of writing a blog post tonight, but it's burritos and when it comes to Mexican food I don't play y'all! When I made this I just kept thinking about the mamas I am getting to know that are in the midst of all of this craziness too and I just had to share! GAPS is hard! It is especially hard when you have a DEEP love for Mexican food! Don't get me wrong, I am extremely grateful for this diet, what it is doing for my health, and that I am from a place where I can choose what foods I do and don't eat. I understand that I am extremely blessed- there are many who go their entire lives without that choice! But I am a California girl who is seriously going through withdrawals missing her Mexican food!

So the other day, when I was at the grocery store and was thinking through food for the week, I thought that "taco Tuesday" would be fun. The only problem is Stage 2 does NOT have any sort of wrap, tortilla, etc. Then divine inspiration came to me and here is what I came up with! I am sure this has been done many times before, but it is new to me and my boys and we are rather pumped to have burritos back!

*Disclaimer: for all you true Mexican food enthusiasts, I know this is missing some key components that would make it "true" Mexican food, but I am doing the best I can with what I got! ;)

Also, please excuse the ghettoness of my pictures, but My Dreamboat was gone with the camera so they are cellphone quality. Like I said before, I am doing the best I can! :)

(no fancy presentation here- my boys were hungry and ready to dig in!)

GAPS Burrito

Ingredients:

8 cups Beef Stock

1lb Ground Beef

4 medium Carrots-shredded

1 cup Mushrooms- diced

1 bunch Collard Greens

1 head Cauliflower

Optional (depending on stage and tolerance)

Other vegetables like bell pepper, summer squash, or tomato

Green Onion

Garlic

Cilantro

Sour Cream

Fermented Salsa

Avocado

Directions:

Stage one: Cauliflower Rice (the lazy way)

Place 2 cups stalk in a pot

Roughly chop cauliflower and place in pot

You can also add some chopped garlic to add flavor

Simmer for 30 minutes

Turn off once done simmering

Take a fork to the caulifower and mash it just a bit to break it down into small pieces

set aside

Stage 2: Collard Green Wraps

Place 6 cups stalk in a second pot

Cut off the ends from the collard green leaves and place the whole leaves in the pot

Simmer on low for 30 minutes

Remove leaves and set aside laying them out flat

Stage 3: Burrito filling

Add the shredded carrots and diced mushrooms to the pot that you just pulled the collard

greens out of.

You can also add diced bell pepper, summer squash and/or tomato (1 cup each)

Add any herbs or seasoning you can do like chopped green onion, cilantro or garlic

Crumble in the raw ground beef

Allow this to simmer on low for 30 minutes

Stage 4: Assemble

Place two collard green leaves on a plate

With a slotted spoon or small strainer scoop out both the cauliflower rice and burrito filling

and place on the leaves

Fold the two sides in and roll the leaves like you would a tortilla

Then top with whatever you can! My littles and I did sour cream but My Dreamboat also had

avocado and tomato, but fermented salsa would be amazing or tomatoes, onions, garlic,

and cilantro simmered in stock!

Add salt to taste and dig in!!!!

Since we are camping out a stage 2 for a while I do believe this is going to become a staple in our home with a cup of stock on the side! I hope you and your family enjoys it as well!

Meet Ashley 

Hi there and welcome!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page