top of page

From -ish to -less: Sole Hope Party!

Sometimes I just need a break from my life! Now, I know what you are probably thinking... VACATION!! As much as I would enjoy one of those, that is not it. I need a break from MY LIFE- from thinking about me, myself, and my "imediates" that demand most of my time. I need to think about some one else for a change and so do my kids! It is so easy for me to get caught up in school, food, health and home life that I sometimes forget the bigger and more important picture.

A friend of mine once said that we need to work on going from ish to less: from being selfish to selfless and we need to work on it at a practical level every day. I long for this in my own life and want to instill this in my kids, but boy that is hard sometimes!! One way to become more selfless is to serve others, but when you have little ones or special needs kids finding service opportunities to get involved in can be tough. That is one of the many reasons why I am so excited to have come across Sole Hope!

Sole Hope is an incredible organization that is changing lives in Uganda. To find out more about them please visit http://www.solehope.org/. They have done an amazing job of making it easy to help out with their cause and to serve others. The idea is simple: Host a party where everyone brings old pairs of jeans! These jeans are cut into pieces that will be turned into shoes for those battling jiggers in Uganda.

The other day we had the immense privilege of getting together, with a group of our friends, to learn a little more about what others are going through and to serve them!

It was something simple. It only took a few hours of our week to coordinate and do this event and yet it not only made a difference for those Sole Hope serves, but it made a difference in us. We completed 15 pairs of shoes, collected a giant box full of medical supplies and we have plans to host another shoe cutting party this winter! As Little Jedi said, "It was fun! I never get to use jeans as a project and it was awesome helping other kids!"

We have a long ways to go from ish to less, but I am so grateful for opportunities like this to think about others for a change! It was a great brake from my life and got me really excited to continue to seek out opportunities to serve! Sole Hope is just one of many incredible organizations out there and I hope to discover and work with more throughout the year. Maybe you have some ideas! If so, please share and if you are interested in hosting a shoe cutting party in your area please check out http://solehopeparty.org/!!!

Meet Ashley 

Hi there and welcome!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 
bottom of page